Skip to content
Curtin University
Physics and Astronomy


physics image

The Physics and Astronomy discipline at Curtin University started life in 1901 as the Department of Physics in the newly formed Perth Technical College. It transferred to its current Bentley site in 1966, as the Department of Applied Physics, with the founding of the Western Australian Institute of Technology. Building on the existing research strengths in the areas of environmental and materials physics, it has grown in 2007 with the addition of the Institute of Theoretical Physics and the Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy, with the latter playing a critically important role in the 2012 award of a substantial part of the Square Kilometre Array to Western Australia.

The Discipline is responsible for the undergraduate Physics Course, which begins with a Physical Sciences Pre-Major Year in the 1st year of study, with four streams aligned with areas of research strength available in subsequent years. These are Astrophysics, Environmental Physics, Materials Science, and Theoretical/Mathematical Physics. The Discipline is also responsible for several postgraduate courses, and is research intensive with considerable research income from the Australian Research Council and industry.

Our students graduate with a broad set of skills and abilities, making them a highly marketable employment commodity. The flexibility offered by a physics degree ensures that our graduates find jobs in a wide variety of careers, including academia, business and industry, all around the world.